SCA+ in SUSE Linux Enterprise High Availability (SCA+)

This certification is an additional option for administrators working with the SUSE Linux Enterprise High Availability Extension. The exam focuses on the additional functionality provided by SUSE Linux Enterprise HA.

Passing the core exam requirement will result in the version 12 certification if an SCA or SCE in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 is held and in the version 15 certification if an SCA or SCE in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 is held.

Detailed Objectives

HA Architecture

HA in the Public Cloud

Cluster Implementation Requirements

  • Collecting the Required Parameters
  • Planning Storage
  • Differences between 2 node and 2+N node clusters
  • Designing Test Cases

Cluster Node Preparation

  • Local Filesystems
  • Preparing the Infrastructure
  • Cluster Networking
  • Bonding Configuration
  • Name Resolution

Deploy a Cluster

  • Cluster Setup
  • Secure Cluster Communications
  • Cluster Installation and Initial Configuration

Administer the HA Cluster

  • Cluster Administration Tools
  • Introduction to Hawk
  • Command Line Tools
  • Configure and Synchronize files with csync2

Split Brain Avoidance

  • Understand Split Brain
  • Understand Fencing
  • Understand STONITH
  • Fencing using BMCs
  • Fencing using SBD
  • Split brain avoidance in 2 node vs 2+ node clusters
  • Fencing in Public Cloud

Cluster Resources

  • Resource Types
  • Resource Agents
  • Resource Groups

Controlling Cluster Behavior using Constraints

  • Location Constraints
  • Order Constraints
  • Colocation Constraints

Cluster Managed Storage

  • Cluster Managed Storage
  • Cluster Managed NFS
  • Overview of cLVM
  • Overview of OCFS2
  • Overview of Cluster Managed MDRAID
  • Overview of DRBD

Access Control Lists

Basic HA Troubleshooting

  • General Troubleshooting
  • CLI Troubleshooting Tools
  • Log Files
  • Updating the Epoch
  • SBD startup behaviour
  • Working with the CIB


The SCA or SCE in SUSE Linux Enterprise Server version 12 or 15 certification is a prerequisite for this SCA+ certification. You will receive the corresponding 12 and/or 15 version of the SCA+ in SUSE Linux Enterprise HA.

Recommended training for this certification

As with all SUSE certifications, course work is not required. You need to pass this certification exam and meet the prerequisites in order to achieve the certification. We highly recommend you study the objectives and prepare for the exam.


  • Exam Type: Exam is questions based, 70 questions
  • Exam Code: scap_ha (previously 050-757)
  • Length: 90 minutes
  • Scoring: The passing score is 70%
  • Retake Policy: If you do not pass the exam, you must wait 72 hours before you can schedule and take the exam again
  • Cost: $149